Finding Inspiration

Good morning everyone! I am in love with this art journal page! I was thumbing through (and creating my ultimate dream art supplies list) a Dick Blick art supplies catalog when I saw this little piece of art on one of the pages. I loved the colors and the textures. So I cut it out not knowing what I would end up using it for but I knew I needed this little bit. 

I was looking through my stencils for another project and I came across my Nancy, Emily, Polly stencil from The Crafters Workshop. Polly (the largest mask) was perfect to me! Inspiration hit and here we are. 🙂 I played off the colors of the magazine cutout. I knew I wanted her (and the art) to be the main focus. My new Slate Grey Dylusions paint seemed like the answer. Once I had painted the page I wanted a little something extra to add some texture to the background. I love my script stamp by Stampabilities so that is what I settled on. I used my soft silver ink by Umbrella Crafts. Then I placed the mask on my page to get an idea of placement. I also used four different sections of my cutout to create the silhouette. 

This page was very simple to create. I found a quote that I thought fit the picture and used my Lilac Lane ink by Umbrella Crafts to add in a little more purple to tie in with the wings. All I had to do was glue everything down and poof! I love it when my favorite pages are so easily created. I decided after I had put everything together that I really liked the shimmer of the text in the background. So, I used my Liquitex Iridescent Medium on the wings.

I hope that you enjoyed this piece. Sometimes inspiration finds us in the middle of an ordinary day. I didn’t know what my cutout was destined to become but it spoke to me. Glad I decided to listen. See you all soon! As always if you like what we are doing please like, share, comment, and scream it from the rooftops!

Leave a comment